<![CDATA[DR J S Rajkumar Reviews - DR J S Rajkumar Reviews]]>Tue, 08 Dec 2015 19:02:49 -0800Weebly<![CDATA[JS Rajkumar Achievements]]>Tue, 18 Aug 2015 18:16:24 GMThttp://drjsrajkumarreviews.weebly.com/-dr-j-s-rajkumar-reviews/js-rajkumar-achievementsDr. JS Rajkumar is the founder and chairman of Lifeline Group of Hospitals. He set up the first ever Stem Cell Unit in Chennai and reported the first successful case after stem cell therapy. He started his entrepreneurial journey by setting up Rigid Hospitals Private Limited at New Avadi Road in Kilpauk in 1997.  He has worked as an Assistant Professor with Sri Ramachandra Medical College, Chennai and as a Consultant Surgeon and Gastroenterologist with Malar Hospital, Chennai.

Dr Rajkumar has been the Chairman of the Association of Surgeons of India, TN&P chapter for the year 2011-12. He founded a trust in 1997 called ‘Dr Rajarathnam Medical and Educational Foundation’ which provides free service to HIV and cancer patients.

 
Awards and Recognitions

1.      Vaidya Ratna Award from President Abdul Kalam

2.      Dr KS Sanjivi Award which is given to doctors with social commitment for health and medicare services to poor and needy

3.      Dr V Chandrasekhar Gold Medal Endowment: IMA, Trichy, Rtn

4.      Dr NC Raghavachari Award for Exemplary Service to the Community - Health

5.      Seva Ratna Award for recognizing services to the society by PR Syndicate

6.      Lifetime Achievement Award from the Lions Club District

 
Education

Dr. Rajkumar graduated from Madras Medical College, Chennai with 32 gold medals. During his post graduation, he received four FRCS to his credit. He then trained in the United Kingdom under senior surgeons on advanced general surgery and hepato-biliary and pancreatic surgery.

 
Medical Career

Medical work history of Dr. JS Rajkumar is as follows:

1.      Chairman – Lifeline Group of Hospitals. Chennai

2.      Chairman ( 2011-2012 ) TN&P, Association of Surgeons of India

3.      Examiner – National Board of Examinations

4.      Examiner – Royal College of Surgeons

5.      Visiting Professor of Surgery – Sri Balaji Medical College, Chennai

6.      Visiting Professor of Surgery – Rajah Muthaiah Medical College, Chidambaram

7.      Editor – Digestive Surgery, Indian Edition

8.      Director – Doctor’s Medical College, Chennai

9.      Founder Member – College of Surgeons of India, New Delhi

10.  Mentor for Advanced Laparoscopy, Indian Association of Gastroenterologists and Endosurgeons

11.  Mentor for Colorectal and Obesity Surgery – COVIDIEN

12.  Mentor for Obesity / Hernia /Advanced Lap Surgeries – ETHICON

Dr. Rajkumar had a successful case with treating a 36-year-old diabetic by cutting 170 cm off from his intestine and moving it closer to the stomach to cure him, a method of treatment which started in Brazil a decade ago.

A team of doctors from a private hospital which included Dr. JS Rajkumar successfully performed bariatric surgery (sleeve gastrectomy) on a 108 kg woman for weight reduction in Puducherry. 

Dr. JS Rajkumar, along with a few other doctors, helped save the life of a 46-year-old surgeon on board a Kolkata-Chennai flight. The surgeon fell unconscious and lost pulse and was revived using the technique of Cardio Pulmonary Resuscitation (CPR).

 Books

Scalpel Scribbles: Dr. JS Rajkumar has authored the book Scalpel Scribbles which is a collection of poems and short stories that focus on his ruminations and memories of real incidents. These include the 2004 Kumbakonam fire accident that claimed the lives of children, and a few other incidents. 

]]>
<![CDATA[Dr J S Rajkumar revives a surgeon from cardiac arrest in air]]>Wed, 29 Jul 2015 10:19:52 GMThttp://drjsrajkumarreviews.weebly.com/-dr-j-s-rajkumar-reviews/dr-j-s-rajkumar-revives-a-surgeon-from-cardiac-arrest-in-airA doctor’s skills can be put to test anywhere and not just in an operation theatre or an examination room. This means that a good doctor is the one who does not rely on the equipments to save lives all the times. The knowledge and confidence are sufficient enough to bring relief to the patients. Dr J S Rajkumar, Chairman, Lifeline Hospitals encountered such a situation where his skills were put to test and he proved his mettle. He saved a fellow passenger’s life on board a flight, without any medical equipment but with sheer talent.

Prakash, a 46 year old surgeon was lucky for having boarded the same flight as Dr. J S Rajkumar’s. That’s because the latter has saved the former’s life in a way that is nothing short of a miracle. Dr J S Rajkumar, was travelling from Kolkata to Chennai after delivering a guest lecture. Coincidentally, Prakash was also travelling in the same flight with his wife. About half an hour after the filght took off, the passengers witnessed a panic situation. Prakash’s wife realized that her husband was having trouble breathing. He was gasping for air. He had suffered a cardiac arrest on the flight. His wife called for help and much to her fortune, Dr J S Rajkumar rushed to the situation to rescue the harrowing patient.

Dr Rajkumar quickly realized that the 46 year old surgeon was losing out on his pulse and needed to be resuscitated. His first response was to grab the first aid kit available on the flight but much to his dismay, the kit proved out to be useless. The kit lacked endo-tracheal tubes that could help Prakash breathe. By this time, the patient had lost pulse and his temperature was dropping. The flight did not have any defibrillators to revive the patient by restarting the stopped heart. Even a mouth to mouth resuscitation could not help. Then, Dr. Rajkumar completely relied on his instincts and started punding on the victim’s chest, putting pressure on the heart. He made several pushes on the chest but just as Dr. J S Rajkumar was about to lose hope, Prakash miraculously revived.

He was keenly observed by the doctor and the situation turned out to be a cardiac arrhythmia. Dr J S Rajkumar understood that although the attack was severe, there was hardly any chance that it would happen again. As the flight landed in Chennai, Prakash was straight away taken to the nearby hospital.

 

 

]]>
<![CDATA[Dr J. S Rajkumar uses Google Glass in his surgery at Lifeline Hospitals]]>Wed, 22 Jul 2015 05:21:55 GMThttp://drjsrajkumarreviews.weebly.com/-dr-j-s-rajkumar-reviews/dr-j-s-rajkumar-uses-google-glass-in-his-surgery-at-lifeline-hospitalsDr. J S Rajkumar, Chairman, Lifeline Hospitals, always likes to stay acquainted with the latest developments in technology. His inclination towards technology has found its way to be used in his hospital as well. Lifeline Hospital houses the latest equipments and gadgets used in medical science. And now Dr. J S Rajkumar has incorporated something absolutely fascinating and revolutionary- Using a Google Glass in a surgery.

The world is dominated by technology. Technology has offered a myriad of benefits in various sectors but there is one sector that has received a great fillip through the use of technology-The healthcare sector.  Technology has revolutionized the healthcare domain. The treatments that seemed impossible a few decades ago have now become a reality, all thanks to the developments in technology. Millions of lives are saved every month across the world, thousands of students are trained every year; all through an extensive use of technology. And the advent of Google Glass has paved in a way for an entirely new experience.

The benefits that a Google Glass offers during a surgery are incredible. It broadcasts the surgery for the people outside the operation theatre. This broadcast can be seen by people in various parts of the world in the real time. This simply means that thousands of students will be able to see the surgery broadcast by the Google Glass and learn intricacies of the surgery. This connectivity is certainly avant-garde and is highly beneficial.

]]>
<![CDATA[Reminiscing the memories: Dr. J S Rajkumar’s  experiences compiled in a book]]>Fri, 17 Jul 2015 09:54:44 GMThttp://drjsrajkumarreviews.weebly.com/-dr-j-s-rajkumar-reviews/reminiscing-the-memories-dr-j-s-rajkumars-experiences-compiled-in-a-bookDoctors often write or co-author books based on medical specialties and another book coming from a renowned surgeon wouldn’t be much of a surprise to anyone. But what if I were to tell you the book being talked about here has got nothing to do with medical science as its subject. Rather it isn’t even remotely related to human biology and anatomy, although it does deal with human emotions and sentiments.

Dr JS Rajkumar, Chairman, Lifeline Hospital Multi Specialty Hospital, has penned a book called Scalpel Scribbles. This book is a compilation of his experiences and thoughts reverberated through anecdotes and poems. This book is unique for it gives an insight into Dr. JS’s life and how things as small as Om mantra or rains had an impact on him. Just flipping through the book gives the reader an idea of how good a writer Dr. Rajkumar is. 

Dr. J S Rajkumar, who always had a penchant for writing has finally embarked on a journey where he would pen his thoughts and ideas. He has already planned to start with his next book which will talk about his emotional experiences with his patients. A doctor comes to know about the deepest secrets of his patient and becomes a confidante. Dr.Rajkumar’s book has touched upon the side that talks about his journey towards becoming such a successful personality.

]]>
<![CDATA[108 kg woman trims her weight through surgery]]>Wed, 01 Jul 2015 07:13:53 GMThttp://drjsrajkumarreviews.weebly.com/-dr-j-s-rajkumar-reviews/108-kg-woman-trims-her-weight-through-surgeryMedical experts say that the epidemic of the 21st century is obesity. The changes which have come in our lifestyles and dietary habits have led us to this disease and this disease further leads us to innumerable illnesses like diabetes, hypertension, heart disease, joint disorders, early onset of bone diseases, and other metabolic diseases. But another hallmark of the 21st century is its advancement of medical sciences, believes Dr JS Rajkumar. From kidney transplant to surgical removal of obesity, everything has become possible now.

Recently, a “high-end laparoscopic surgery and bariatric surgery” was performed by surgeons on a woman whose body mass index (BMI) was more than 40 and weight was 108 kg. The surgery was performed by Dr. JS Rajkumar and Dr SP Ilango at AUM hospital, Puducherry.

Dr JS Rajkumar believes that the bariatric surgery of the woman is a permanent removal of weight. The woman went through ‘sleeve gastrectomy’, as revealed by Dr JS Rajkumar and Dr SP Ilango. AUM hospital is a multi-specialty private hospital which has introduced high end laparoscopic and bariatric surgery for the first time. Laparoscopic surgery stands in opposition to cosmetic surgery and is much better.

]]>
<![CDATA[Dr J S Rajkumar- Banded Bypass Combined Surgery]]>Fri, 19 Jun 2015 11:22:07 GMThttp://drjsrajkumarreviews.weebly.com/-dr-j-s-rajkumar-reviews/dr-j-s-rajkumar-banded-bypass-combined-surgeryI want to share my sister problem of obesity. My sister is overweight by birth. In the school days, she used to play basketball in school though being overweight.  She manages to keep balance between her studies and physical activity as it is essential for him to indulge in physical activity to keep her weight in check. After passing school days, she failed to manage between the studies and her weight problem. She became so obese that she was not able to walk for even 5 minutes. She joins the aerobics classes but all her efforts were futile as she was not able to reduce weight. She thought to consult a dietician to lose weight under the doctor but her body is not responding to any kind of diet she is taking. She consulted general physician to take anti biotic that can reduce hunger but that treatment also fails in her case. We have heard about Dr J S Rajkumar treatment of obesity by surgeries in Chennai. Though visiting Dr J S Rajkumar is tough call for us as we are staying in Delhi, still we decided to visit him. Dr J S Rajkumar conducted several test which indicate that the surgery is mandate is my sister case. Dr J S Rajkumar told us that he will conduct banded bypass surgery which help help the stomach to be in its normal size. He will Laparascopically places an adjustable silicone band around the upper part of the stomach.  When the silicon band squeezes the stomach becomes a pouch. After banding the stomach can hold very little food. Dr J S Rajkumar further told us that the key aspect of this surgery is that a plastic tube runs from the silicone band to a device under the skin. Sterile salt water can be removed or injected through this to the silicone band. When saline water fills the band it becomes tighter. With this method the band can be loosened or tightened whenever needed to improve weight loss with least side effects. Dr J S Rajkumar conducted the surgery and my sister stomach is back to normal size. She is really thankful to Dr J S Rajkumar for his treatment.

]]>
<![CDATA[Dr J S Rajkumar’s Innovation Of Using Google Glass In Surgeries]]>Wed, 17 Jun 2015 07:15:09 GMThttp://drjsrajkumarreviews.weebly.com/-dr-j-s-rajkumar-reviews/dr-j-s-rajkumars-innovation-of-using-google-glass-in-surgeriesI and my four friends working as software engineer in Cognizant Technologies, Chennai. We all are living in flat allocated by the company. We have a daily schedule of waking at 8 am in the morning, getting ready for office and coming back to flat at 9 pm after roaming around in nearby area. Due to unhygienic and junk food, one of my friends becomes obese. As we all healthier as compared to our college days, so we took his obesity as the reason for the same. But when his obesity level crossed the danger. We consulted general physician, he suggested some weight reducing pills, but that pills did not work as they were supposed to be. After 2 months, we consulted Dr J S Rajkumar, the Laparoscopic Surgery Operator, we are not ready for the surgery that can reduce weight .My friend current weight is 108kg . Dr J S Rajkumar claimed that 40kg can be reduced after the surgery but we are not ready to believe it. We thought it was way of fooling us. To our surprise, Dr J S Rajkumar showed the Google Glass which help us to see the whole surgery live. Dr J S Rajkumar. He further explained us that the Google Glass has basic connectivity where the operation is performed. Dr J S Rajkumar gave the assurance that if there is any doubt or require help, the Google Glass enable me to the help from another surgeon. We are fully convinced by the method and surgical procedure. Dr J S Rajkumar conducted the surgery and we are able to visualize the surgery through the help of Google Glass. We really appreciated Dr J S Rajkumar procedure.  

]]>
<![CDATA[Dr J S Rajkumar’s Endoscopic intra-gastric balloon Treatment]]>Thu, 11 Jun 2015 07:20:38 GMThttp://drjsrajkumarreviews.weebly.com/-dr-j-s-rajkumar-reviews/dr-j-s-rajkumars-endoscopic-intra-gastric-balloon-treatmentI used to live in joint family with three generations together.  My aunt and uncle with their children used to live on first floor and we live on ground floor. My dad is chartered accountant by profession and my uncle is a businessman. My uncle is owner of cloth manufacturing factory. His daily schedule is waking 7 am in the morning. At 8 am, he need to rush to factory as the factory is far away from home. After reaching factory, he only has to monitor the things by sitting in his office. My uncle is foodie person by nature, so he eats a lot. Due to this, he is obese person. His obesity is leading to many problems like high blood pressure, increased cholesterol level. So my uncle started morning walk but it did not work. He hired even a yoga instructor but his excess fat around body parts making it difficult for him to lose weight. At last, he consulted local doctor, he suggested my uncle the surgery but he is orthodox person, he believe that having a surgery for obesity is of no use. He has heard about Dr J S Rajkumar weight loss treatments. At first, my uncle was reluctant to visit Dr J S Rajkumar. But when he visited him, he was amazed by the method of treatment of Dr J S Rajkumar. Dr J S Rajkumar told my uncle that a soft balloon is inserted into his stomach which is called Endoscopic intra-gastric balloon. The balloon is filled with saline solution to fill the stomach partially, which will help in reduce the amount of hunger and the quantity of food intake. The balloon is removed after six months so that my uncle can reduce more weight by physical activity. My uncle is thankful to Dr J S Rajkumar for his advice.]]><![CDATA[Dr J S Rajkumar’s expertise in combined surgery]]>Thu, 11 Jun 2015 07:01:39 GMThttp://drjsrajkumarreviews.weebly.com/-dr-j-s-rajkumar-reviews/dr-j-s-rajkumars-expertise-in-combined-surgeryI am working in Software Company in Chennai as a software programmer. I was selected for that company in recruitment drive conducted in college. When I was studying, I was obese, so I make a regular schedule of working out in gym. So, I was able to keep my weight under check. But when I went to Chennai for job, my primary focus is job only. In Chennai, my daily schedule is waking 8 am in the morning, reaching office at 9 am and coming back to my room at 7.30 pm. After reaching my room, I have to do all household work like cleaning utensils and clothes, preparing food for myself and completing the office work that has been assigned. In all these things, I again become obese. My fat got accumulated around lower abdomen and legs So, I started morning walk, but it didn’t help me. I consulted nearby doctor in Chennai, he prescribed me certain medicines which will help me in losing weight. The medicines prescribed to me didn’t work instead it have negative impact on my health. My roommate told me about the Dr J S Rajkumar expertise in weight loss surgery. I visited Dr J S Rajkumar, he told me that my case needs surgery because there is excess deposition of fat and that deposition cannot be removed by medicine. Dr J S Rajkumar told me about his special method of reducing weight and that method is combined surgery called banded Sleeve. Dr J S Rajkumar told me that the surgical procedure will help me in reducing the size of stomach to 10% of original volume and his results in limiting the food intake to anywhere between 80 to 120 ml. In this procedure the left side of the stomach is surgically removed. Dr J S Rajkumar further explained that  unlike bypass surgery there is no re routing or reconnecting of intestines and its far more simpler than the gastric bypassed J S Rajkumar conducted the surgery within a week and now I am free from my obesity. I am really thankful to Dr J S Rajkumar.

]]>
<![CDATA[Dr J S Rajkumar-Expert In key Hole Surgery]]>Wed, 10 Jun 2015 07:18:34 GMThttp://drjsrajkumarreviews.weebly.com/-dr-j-s-rajkumar-reviews/dr-j-s-rajkumar-expert-in-key-hole-surgeryI am working in I T sector as an engineer. My job is to program code for websites and maintain a database. I used to get up at 7 am in the morning as I have to reach gurgoan at 9 am for office. From 9 am to 6 pm, I have to continuously work and at times I have to skip lunch for my projects. As a result my weight is increasing due to less physical activity and eating meals at irregular interval. Due to continuously increasing weight and hectic schedule, I was not able to walk even for 5 minutes. This was the point where I released I need to focus on my health but due to busy schedule, I fail to focus. After 2 months, when I was in office, I fainted. I thought it was due to lack of proper rest, but when I went to doctor examination; I was having high blood pressure of around 150 and increased cholesterol level. Then I started morning walk but I was not able to do because of excess weight and excess deposition of fat around my stomach. I have heard about Dr J S Rajkumar from my neighbor about his key hole surgery of cutting down the fat without much pain. I visited Dr J S Rajkumar for my problem. Dr J S Rajkumar conducted few test. After the test report, he conducted the key hole surgery to remove the excess fat. After surgery, I am free from cholesterol and blood pressure issue. I am really thankful to Dr J S Rajkumar.

]]>